Fruit of Evolution [LN] Volume 2 – Chapter 8: Walking and Inn

————I, Hiiragi Seiichi, had never been liked by living things on earth.

Not only humans, but even dogs and cats.

If I pass near dogs and cats, their hair will turn upside down, and they’ll be intimidating or they’ll unreasonably bark. Perhaps, because of my smell. …… I wished that it was only so.

However, it was still better for them to have such a reaction, since the moment I approached, some of them almost weep as they fainted. It was so bad that I even killed a Clever Monkey with my smell!

Well, right now, there is a girl named Saria who clearly likes me, but anyway, I’ve been hated by the category of living things for a long time. Of course, Kenji and the others are my friends, so I don’t think they hated me…… Yes, I hope so.

Well, I’ve been hated that much, but I loved animals, and wanted to take them to a walk.

That’s why, it was like a dream to be able to walk a dog like this, in a request.

It’s just, I wonder why. I’m supposed to be taking a walk with a dog that I was dreaming of, but I’m not happy at all.

“UOooooooooooooooooooohhhhh!”

“Huh! Hah! Hah! Hah! Guruaaaaaa!”

———— Because, it’s completely different from the walk I know.

I am now, with a dog that boasts a huge white body of 5 meters ———— being chased by Milk-chan with all its might.

……A’re? That’s strange…… For a dog walk, you attach a large collar while it being on the lead, and walk in a heartwarming mood, isn’t it? Right now, I’m running at full speed with a sense of urgency to the MAX, though. Without me knowing, has the concept of walking changed radically?

“It’s strange as I thought!?”

“Woooooooooooooon!”

Being chase with a dog is not a walk!? Furthermore, I am being chased!

In the first place, Milk-chan’s bark is not that of a dog! This is completely from a wolf!

“Is Milk-chan really a dog!?”

Even though I was crying my heart out, I never stop running. If I stop …… I’ll be eaten! …… I feel so.

By the way, I was sprinting with all my might, but since the walking course is at Adriana-san’s garden, I was doing my best not to ruin the garden.

If I ran without thinking about Adriana-san’s garden or anything like that, the garden would be full of craters by now. It has been proven in my combat with the slime.

Every time I run, the hood seems to come off, but I hold it down with my hand each time. Moving restlessly, Altria-san stares at me who continues to be chased by Milk-chan.

“Seiichi…… your feet are amazingly fast.”

“Is that what you think in this situation!?”

Didn’t you have a different impression!?

“That’s right…… You have endurance.”

“I was stupid as I expected!”

Shit! There seems to be no way to manage this situation.

Well, Altria-san is my test supervisor, and I know that she can’t help me, though.

“Gururururu …… woun!”

As I continued to run away, Milk-chan stopped suddenly, and it leaped over here.

“Uoooo!?”

I succeeded in twisting my body and avoiding it, but I wonder why did it jump.

…… I don’t even want to think about it, but Milk-chan…… Maybe, it’s gonna kill me?

“Gurururu……”

“Uwaah…… It’s extremely intimidating……”

Its eyes are bloodshot. It’s groaning. It’s scary.

Milk-chan takes a distance at once, and it’s aiming at me to make a chance.

Is Milk-chan really a dog? It’s definitely different, isn’t it?

Such a question came to my mind, so I secretly activated 『Advanced appraisal』.

『Snow Wolf Lv: 180』

“Isn’t it a wolf after aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall!”

Adriana-san told a lie! Isn’t it a wolf! Why did you say that it’s a dog!? It’s plainly possesses a high level!

I thought it was impossible to walk a wolf, so I asked Altria-san for help.

“Altria-san! Milk-chan is not a dog, but a wolf!”

“I can see that if I just look at it.”

“You know it!?”

“Naturally. First of all, is it even a problem of whether it’s a dog or a wolf? Aren’t they the same dog?”

“They’re totally different!? It’s absurdly attacking me, though!? Isn’t it impossible to walk a wolf in the first place!?”

“It’s not impossible. If it’s done properly, isn’t it.”

“The walk I know is different from this!”

“Well, do your best. Everything is an experience.”

“『Experience』…… what a convenient word, Goddammit!”

I think “experience” is a variously cunning word. Especially for newbies. As a result of me asking for help, I did not receive a decent answer.

“Oops, I forgot to say. If you’re about to be eaten, then protect your head, I guess?”

“Please help me then!?”

To my tsukkomi, Altria smiled like a charming little devil.

That smile, I unintentionally got fascinated by it. …… it’s super cute.

At first, she didn’t laugh at all, so I’m honestly happy when she laughs like this.

When I have such an impression while looking at Altria-san, Milk-chan, who was looking for a chance, set itself up.

“Guruwon!”

“Uei!?”

It jumped so naturally, so my reaction slowed down for a moment, but I managed to avoid it.

Well, it seems that I’ll sustain no damage even if I eat that attack, but…… if I don’t avoid things that can be avoided firmly, I’ll be in trouble if my body doesn’t move.

“The next after that chasing, is a battle huh……”

There are already no traces of walking left. What place did we conduct a walk. I don’t think there should be such a deadly walk.

What’s more, when it came to the battle, I just keep avoiding its attacks, what an unreasonable thing. If I attack Milk-chan ……. let’s stop thinking that. I think everyone would be happier if no one knows what’s ahead. To put it forcedly, the tragedy of slime will come again.

At such a time, Adriana came back to the garden, perhaps because she had a thing to do at this place.

“Seiichi-san and Milk-chan seem to be having a lot of fun!”

“Are you kidding!?”

Does this situation look like we’re having fun!? I recommend you going to an ophthalmologist! But this place is a different world. There is no ophthalmology huh……

“Altria-chan, I brewed tea, but do you want it?”

“Ah, I’ll have some.”

“No way, tea time!?”

I was being desperate here!

I can’t take my ideal walk! The lead that should be attached to the collar of it in my hand had become empty!

“Shit, this is becoming abandonment! I’ll do my best to play against it…… Come on, Milk-chan!”

“Gururururu …… Wooon!”

I threw away the lead I had in my hand, and I spread both my hands as if to accept Milk-chan.

And then, Milk-chan jumped into me without any hesitation.

◇◆◇

“Ah …… I’m tired ……”

“Hah! Hah! Hah!”

Milk-chan and I, were lying in the garden of Adriana-san’s house.

After that, I played with Milk-chan with all my might. As I notice it, the sky was getting redder.

Thinking about it, I don’t think that what Milk-chan and I were doing was play. Since I am proud of my monster-like status, I can straighten it up in a single word, game, but if it was an ordinary person, it would have been an instant death.

However, as a result of exchanging such lives with Milk-chan, I felt that it was surprisingly fun.

Of course, it’s not that I’ve become an M constitution, but it’s like the refreshment after enjoying sports purely.

As a result, both I and Milk-chan became exhausted.

“Oi oi …… Seiichi, what kind of physical strength do you have ……”

“It’s not what I asked for you to do, but I never thought that you would compete with Milk-chan.”

Se,seriously …… That’s, not really what Adriana-san said.

“I was originally confident in my physical strength……”

My physical strength is okay, but I’m very tired mentally, so I answered so languidly.

“No, even so, it’s strange…… Milk-chan’s attack, how can you ward it off?”

“I have done this work using my survival instincts.”

“……How desperate are you……”

I think you guys prepared this! …… I have thought that, but let’s not put it out with my mouth.

Even so, I was terribly flustered that my status would be exposed. Even if they use the appraisal skill, it’s fine, but ……

“Well it’s fine. Thanks to Seiichi-san, Milk-chan seems to have enjoyed it a lot.”

Adriana-san says so with a smile.

When the poisonous air involuntarily got rid of with such a smile of her, whether his physical strength got recovered, Milk-chan got up and approached. And then, he licks my face who was still lying down.

“Uwah! Hey!”

I was surprised that my face was suddenly licked, but I was more worried that my hood would come off.

“Oh my! I didn’t think Milk-chan would be so open to others besides me and my husband ……”

Looking at me who was full of drool all over my face, Adriana-san spilled so…….

“Wait a minute. Then, those who have taken care of Milk-chan until now, what happened ……?”

“He didn’t open at all. The same person as that day never lasted with him…… So, I wonder if they got injured?”

I definitely think so!

“There were no dead or serious injuries, so it’s okay!”

“No no no no! Please think more about your servants!”

They’re risking their life too much!?

While sympathizing with the servants who I didn’t even know their names, I remembered the secret sense of accomplishment that I was liked by such a dangerous Milk-chan.

Even if the request was a chore, the sense of accomplishment and fulfillment will differ depending on how seriously you work on it.

Confirming such a fact that seems obvious and difficult to notice, I suddenly ask what I was wondering next.

“Speaking of which …… Milk-chan and Adriana-san, where did you meet?”

Milk-chan has a high level and is strong. It seemed strange that Adriana-san, an ordinary person, could keep him as a pet. However, Adriana-san laughed, and answered such a question of mine.

“It’s not such a big story. I used to go to a snowy country. because of my husband’s job. While we were travelling to that country, I came across a child Milk-chan, who was still injured……. he didn’t seem to have any parents, so we treated his injuries, took him home, and we took care of him, making him emotionally attached to us.”

“Hee……”

Even though it’s a monster, if it was touched with human kindness, you can get along with in this manner.

I think this fact, is close to the teaching of the Belfille religion that Altria-san taught. Well, nevertheless, I think that in reality it still doesn’t work out, though.

“Well, my request is now complete …… Yes, this is the reward for this time.”

In a self-contained place, Adriana handed me a bag of hemp cloth that looked heavy for some reason.

Its size is a thing of two-handed size, but when she handed it over, its heavy weight was transmitted to me at once.

“……Eh?”

I inadvertently checked the inside of the bag knowing that it was rude, and I could only mutter so briefly.

That’s because, the bag was filled with a large amount of silver and copper coins.

“Thi,this is……”

“As I said, it’s the reward. Please take it.”

“Eeeh!? Isn’t it too much!?”

“It’s all right, if it’s this much. Besides, Seiichi-san did his best this time. This is an evaluation for that, so accept this obediently.”

I tried to return the excessive money, but Adriana-san refused it.

Well, I certainly did my best, but…… isn’t this too much? There are about 90 silver and copper coins in each, right?

When I was confused about what to do with the ridiculous amount, Altria-san replied.

“It’s legitimately a reward from the client. It would be rude to refuse it, wouldn’t it? Accept it.”

“I,if you said so ……”

If Altria-san said so, I thought it would be okay to decline, but I received the reward obediently.

“Fufu. So honest and very good. I might request you again, so can I ask you at that time as well?”

“Ah…… yes!”

In response to my reply, Adriana-san smiled sweetly.

◇◆◇

When we got out of Adriana-san’s house, we head to the orphanage to pick up Saria.

“I’m glad, Seiichi. I believe you’ve got one customer.”

“Customer?”

“Yes. Adventurers who do a good job, sometimes may be nominated directly by the client. We can build a relationship of mutual trust, and earn a stable income, so having a customer is also an important status as a full-fledged adventurer. It’s natural to get a job done properly, but there are things like that, so it’s important to do a polite work on a daily basis.”

“I see……”

The thing Altria-san teaches me, is really educational. Besides, it’s important not only for adventurers but also for any profession to work politely on a daily basis, as Altria-san said.

“Now then, we’re here, but……”

When we were having such exchanges and chats, we arrived in front of the orphanage before I knew it.

Altria-san enters the church without any hesitation, just as she did at the beginning.

When Altria-san went inside and called out, Claire-san, the director of the orphanage, and Saria, wearing an apron, came.

“Ah, Seiichi!”

“This is, Altria-san. I wonder if Seiichi-san’s work is over?”

“Yes, it’s over. So I came to pick up Saria, but …… How was Saria?”

“Fuh……”

Claire-san looks down for some reason after receiving Altria-san’s question.

The situation is, why does it look like it was saying 『Foolish question …… 』.

And then————

“It’s flawless! It’s wonderful! Too magnificent!”

“” ………… “”

I and Altria-san are stunned by her sudden high tension.

“The tea that she made is delicious, and she cleaned the dirty places where the children play perfectly! In addition, when she plays with them, she keeps an eye on them as long as they don’t get seriously injured, and she clearly scold the bad things done by a bad one. Saria-chan is a popular child!”

When Claire-san emphasized that, many children came from the back of the church.

“Saria-oneechan, play with me!”

“Ah, not fair! Play with me this time!”

“Look look~! I was able to draw well!”

“Saria-oneechan, toilet ~”

As soon as the children came, they began to flock to Saria.

Amazing…… she’s really popular.

Next to me, Altria-san is also stunned. When the two of us were surprised at the sight in front of us,

“Look! Guest-sans have come, you know? First of all, you have to greet them, right?”

Saria scolded the children with her hands on her hips. Then, the children responded cheerfully, and return a greeting to us. I mean …… she’s like a mom.

“And, I’m sorry? I already have to bye bye with everyone today.”

“““EEeehh~!”””

All the children made a sad voice towards Saria’s words.

“It’s okay! I’ll come back to play again, so …… right?”

The children seemed to be dissatisfied with her words, but she managed to convince them.

“It’s okay! Saria-chan is the name I’m going to ask for from this point on! You can meet her anytime!”

Claire-san, told the children so. It seems that Saria has also made something called a customer.

When I thought about that, Claire-san brought a hemp bag like I got from Adriana-san.

However, it was not a big bag like Adriana-san’s, but it was big enough to fit in a palm.

“This is the reward for this time. I really wanted to give more, but……”

“I don’t mind! I was able to meet, and play with everyone! I have gotten more rewards than this.”

Claire was deeply impressed by Saria’s words. Saria has a childish tone mixed in, but it’s very solid. Maybe, the content is the one that’s too childish, though.

“Thank you, Saria-chan! Also, will you accept it if I make a request?”

“Of course!”

When Saria responded cheerfully to Claire-san’s words, we left the orphanage.

◇◆◇

“See, this is your reward for dismantling the abandoned building.”

When we return to the guild where the chaos spreads, Altria-san handed me the reward she received from the receptionist, Ellis-san.

That’s or rather, the money I got from Adriana-san was more.

“Hahahahaha! First request…… You seem to have succeeded doing it safely!”

“Thank you for your hard work.”

Gassur and Ellis-san, came under us. …… This Gassur guy, is he working?

“When becoming an adventurer, most people get a lot of subjugation requests. That’s because, the rewards are by far the best. However, the odd job request that you received this time is a splendid work. Did you understand that with this requests?”

“Ah”

“Yup!”

Both I and Saria immediately answered Gassur’s words, who said so in a more serious manner than ever before.

There may be a lot of simple work, but chores are one of the finest jobs, and you shouldn’t think of them as superior or inferior to your job. It’s important how seriously you can do the job you’re given.

When Gassur opened his eyes to us who answered immediately, he made a gentle smile.

“I see! It’s good that you understand! My muscles are also happy!”

In the end, he’s disappointing as usual!

When I was amazed at the appearance of such Gassur, Ellis-san handed me and Saria a palm-sized white board.

“This is, a temporary guild card that we give to people who just registered in the guild. Although it’s temporary, it also serves as an ID card, so don’t lose it, okay?”

Looking at the white board that was handed over, I found out that what I first wrote on the paper was written down.

“Now then, your chore test is over, but you’re going to get a gathering request tomorrow, okay?”

“Aah…… ah”

“Nn? What’s wrong?”

Shortly after answering Gassur’s words, I realized that there’s a thing.

“We, haven’t secured a place to stay today, though……”

“Well, so that’s what it was…… If so, would you like to come to the same place as me?”

“Eh?”

“The accommodation fee is reasonably priced, and you can rest assured about your safety. Besides, the meals served in the morning, noon and night are delicious. “

“Let’s go there”

I answered Altria-san’s invitation immediately. The delicious meal, was attractive.

With that in my mind, for some reason, Gassur and Ellis-san looked at Altria-san, and opened their eyes. Why?

“Well then, let’s go. I’m a little tired……”

“Eh? Ah…… wait a minute!”

I tilt my head in wonder, but Altria-san leaves the guild quickly.

If she gets away here, we won’t know where the inn is, so I and Saria gave a brief greeting to Ellis-san and the others, and hurriedly chased after Altria-san.

“Ellis-kun. Altria-kun, had invited them to the same inn.”

“Ye,yeah…… If it was the usual Altria-san, she would never do that……”

“Uumu ……. well, it seems to be going in a good direction. My muscles are also delighted.”

“Now then, let’s get to work.”

“A’re? Ignored?”

That such an exchange was taking place in the guild, we still did not know.

◇◆◇

“This is, the inn where I’m staying.”

“Oh……”

The place where we were brought, was an inn with the words 『Tree of Peace』.

It doesn’t look so flashy, and it’s not in a place with a lot of people, but its distance from the guild felt just right.

“I’ll go in, and take a room.”

“Ah, yes”

When I entered the inn, the inside was enveloped in a certain amount of liveliness. It’s not very wide, but it’s just right in many ways. When I was looking around the area, a woman approached.

“Ara? Welcome back, Al-chan”

“…… Oh”

A, Al-chan? Is that a nickname or something?

When I was inclined to the woman’s remarks, the woman noticed the presence of me and Saria.

“Ara? Who are these guys?”

“They’re the newcomers who I test supervise right now. Please prepare a room for these two people.”

“Well, that Al-chan is here~. Right now, only one double room is available, but …… is it okay for you to be there?”

I don’t have the mindset that it’s bad to sleep in the same room as a girl, because we just kept sleeping together during our trip to this Terviel.

That’s why, both I and Saria express our consent.

“It’s particularly fine for me.”

“I’m okay too!”

“Then, how many days are you going to stay?”

“That’s right……. for the time being, for about a month please.”

“I understand. Well then, its 50 silver coins, is that all right?”

It’s late, but I’m glad that a month has pass through. The concept of time seems to be the same in another world. Or rather, it was written in the knowledge from God that I could spend a year with 10 silver coins, but 50 silver coins is light for 5 years. God also said that there is a basic no-touch in this world, and isn’t that value of money from a long time ago? If that’s the case, I may need to re-examine the value of money.

For the time being, my financial side was okay, so I took the silver coins out of my item box.

“It’s all right.”

“Yes, I certainly received it. Ah, I’m Fina. This place is where I, my husband, and my daughter are working together. Nice to meet you?”

“Ah,err…… I’m Seiichi. Please treat me well”

“I’m Saria! Please treat me well”

“Seiichi-kun and Saria-chan. Then I will briefly explain the inn. We serve three meals each day. We don’t have a time for it, so if you come to the dining room when you want, my husband will always make it. The dining room has just been emptied, and …… I wonder if you can meet him for the time being. Darling! Can you come out for a while?”

Her husband-san is making it huh …… I have a strict image of her husband-san in such a place.

I think it’s a very biased way of thinking, but that kind of image was strong in me.

And, Fina-san is very beautiful. Hmm…… Is it common sense that the women in an inn are beautiful? Ah, a good-looking aunt is also a royal road.

Anyway, at this time I imagined Fina-san’s husband as a strict old man.

But my imagination shattered in an instant.

“Did you call for me?”

“Ah, right here. These two are the guests who will be staying here from today.”

“Is that so…… I, am Lyle, in charge of cooking at this inn. Nice to meet you.”

“Eh? Ah … yes. Uhmm …… I’m Seiichi.”

“Saria!”

The husband-san introduced by Fina-san is ———— was an absurdly refreshing handsome guy.

His appearance of wearing an apron, make me imagine of ikemen* who existed on the earth. (TN: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ikemen)

Who. Decided that the inn’s husband-san was an old man. Lyle-san, isn’t he handsome.

“Seiichi-kun and Saria-chan, tell me when you’re hungry, okay? By the way, it’s free for up to 3 meals, but I’ll ask for money from the fourth meal. Be mindful, alright?”

So that’s it. Well, I’m glad I can eat without worrying about the time.

I mean, I wonder why does Lyle-san’s movements all look refreshing. Ikemen is unfair.

“Oh yeah, we don’t have a bath, but we’ll prepare a towel and hot water in order for you to wipe your body. If you tell me what clothes you want to wash, I’ll wash them.”

When I was lightly jealous of the handsome guy, Fina-san told me so.

Oh, I completely want to bath. Well, I think it’s fine because I have Wash in my life magic, though……

“Well then, yes. This is the key to your room. Please leave it to me when you go out. Then I’ll let my daughter show you around now.”

The key given by Fina-san, had 301 written on it.

“It’s the room next to mine huh”

Suddenly, Altria-san muttered so triflingly.

“Well, if anything happens, come to my room.”

“Thank you very much!”

Yes, Altria-san is too good of a person. When I was impressed by the kindness of Altria-san, a girl came from the back of the inn.

“This child is our daughter, Mary.”

“New customers! Nice to meet you!”

“I’m Seiichi. Nice to meet you.”

“I’m Sarria! Nice to meet you.”

Mary has a green hair in ponytail, and her eyes are red. And above all, since she was the only daughter of Fina-san and Lyle-san, she was a great beautiful girl. She’s definitely a poster girl.

In terms of age, she doesn’t seem to be much different from me, but…… when a beautiful man and a beautiful woman really get married, the child that is born can also be a beautiful man and/or a beautiful woman, right. Well, there may be exceptions, though.

“Then follow me! I’ll show you around.”

When we were about to move with Mary, Mary suddenly stops, and pointed to a certain place.

“That’s the dining room. My dad usually works there, so if you’re hungry, you can go over there, alright?”

Mary explains the inn easily like that.

It’s a simple explanation, but it’s very easy to understand.

Even though she looks like the same age as me, Mary is firmer than me no matter how I think.

As I lightly sink in that fact, we had arrived in front of our room before I know it.

“This is the room where Seiichi and his friend will stay.”

“This huh……”

“I think you’ve heard most of the explanations from my mom, but if you have any questions, feel free to ask! Well then, I have other jobs to do!”

“Thank you”

When I said that, Mary smiled and left.

“Well, it’s time for me to go back to my room and rest. Good night.”

“Ah, good night”

“Good night!”

When Altria-san greeted us like that, she went into the room next to us while yawning.

“Now then, let’s enter into our room too!”

“Yup!”

When I entered inside the room using the key, there was a slightly wider space for two people to use.

There are two beds, a table and chairs. The facilities are pretty good.

As I look around and having such an impression, next to me, Saria did a cute yawn.

“Fua~……”

“What’s wrong? Are you tired?”

“Yeah …… a little ……”

“But you haven’t eaten dinner, right?”

“That’s right, but …… I’m not quite hungry.”

“Is that so …… then do you want to go to bed?”

“Yeah……”

Saria rubs her eyes, and falls straight into bed. After a while, I heard her lovely sleeping voice.

“…… You were tired huh”

I certainly ran around all day, and I was mentally tired, but I think Saria was also tired from playing with the children in a different way. I hold Saria, who has fallen into the bed, and put a blanket on her. Before putting the blanket on her, I use the life magic wash on her, to keep her body clean.

“Hmm…… Seiichi……”

The expression of Saria muttering my name in her sleep, was calm, yet it was very beautiful.

“Seiichi …… I love you ……”

When I hear her murmur, my face turns bright red involuntarily.

I,is she thinking of me in her dreams ……

I was embarrassed by the fact, but my heart was filled with feelings of joy more than that.

“…… Good night, Saria.”

When I muttered so at the end, I fell asleep without eating dinner.

<<Previous | Home | Next>>

3 thoughts on “Fruit of Evolution [LN] Volume 2 – Chapter 8: Walking and Inn

Leave a comment