Fruit of Evolution [LN] Volume 2 – Chapter 2: Royal Capital Terviel

Me who forgot the natural thing of leveling up, couldn’t understand the meaning of the voice that resonated in my head for a while.

I’ve completely forgotten to level up because I’ve only evolved so far ……

However, the fact that I heard a voice saying “level up” in my head just now, it probably means that my level has risen.

But why? I feel that there is a disturbing sign from the word “level up” ……!

For the time being, I hurriedly displayed my status to see what had happened to me.

《Hiiragi Seiichi》

Race: Human (human)

Gender: Male (Male)

Occupation: Unknown Monster (Magic Swordsman)

Age: 17 (17)

Level: 2 (2)

Magic power: 216030 (21)

Attack power: 218090 (21)

Defense: 213270 (21)

Agility: 220270 (22)

Magic Attack: 215580 (21)

Magic Defense: 216680 (21)

Luck: 209040 (20)

Charm: Dokidoki heart breaking (20)

《Equipment》 Fine quality shirt. Fine quality trousers. High-quality underwear. Fine quality pants. Clever Monkey’s Chain.  Water spirit sphere dagger. Night bracelet. Black King Stone Choker. Endless Love Necklace. Fine Sword of Swirling Hatred. Fine Sword of Sword of Overflowing Benevolence.

《Unique Skill》 Instant memory. Complete memory. Instant learning. Instant recovery. Complete dismantling. Mind’s eye

《Skill》 【Attack】 Cutting legs(Kick Slach). Twin Fang Attack. Strong Claws. 【Resistance】 Paralyze resistance. Sleep resistance. Confusion tolerance. Charm resistance. Petrification resistance. Inhibition resistance. Poison resistance. Fatigue resistance. 【Movement】 Moment. 【Unique】 Advanced appraisal. Super Compounding. Tool Creation: Ultra Top Class. Enemy Search. Camouflage. Assimilation. Clairvoyance. Absorption. Compression

《Magic》 Life magic. Water attribute magic: Extreme. Darkness Attribute Magic: Extreme

《Secret Arts》 Gale (Hayate). Flash. Mist

《Martial Arts》 Zeford-style Guardian Swordsmanship: Founder

《Title》 Stinky player. The man with a gorilla bride. Top overall. Without restraint on oneself. King of males

《Money Possessed》 1000500000G

“Kahah”

I spit blood, and collapsed on the spot. My status, as the title means, doesn’t seem to know its own restraint.

Why did my status increased by 100,000 even though my level has only increased by 1? Hey, why?

What’s more, I should have defeated a slime whose level is 87 higher than me, but for some reason, my level has only risen by 1. Well, this was reassuring on the contrary, but I’m still in doubt.

……A’re? It’s weird that I am at ease with a small level up, aren’t I? Oops, from my eyes……

“What are you, me……”

Saria crouched down next to me as I muttered quietly.

“Cheer up, Seiichi”

“Yeah…….”

Perhaps Saria doesn’t know why I collapsed, but in this manner, she speaks kind words to me. I love her like that.

I regain my spirit and stand up.

“There is no help for things that have been done. Let’s regain our mind and leave it at that! “

“Yup!”

After receiving Saria’s reply, we set off again.

◇◆◇

“Ey”

Zupan!

Five days have passed since the first time I defeated a slime.

During these five days, there was no event of being attacked by bandits in particular, and there was not a mofu mofu development with Saria.

The only thing that happened to me by force, was that slimes have attacked me. …… Well, my level has also risen.

Also, from the content written in 『The Life of Slime』, I could only understand what kind of things slime mainly eats.

There were many subtle events, but I have just erased the slime that was still attacking. In the end, all I have to do is throw the same scattered drop items of it into the item box. By the way, I’m already equipped with the Blue shoes.

When the item collection work was completed, I muttered lightly.

“……Futile”

Every time a slime appears, it’s killed instantly. It’s no longer a game work.

As I was far away, the voice resounded again in my brain. I have a very unpleasant premonition at this.

『You’ve leveled up. The proficiency level of the skill 【Camouflage】 has increased to the maximum value. The effect will shift to 【Ability Camouflage】. The effect of the skill 【Enemy Search】 has been increased from a radius of 10 meters to a radius of 500 meters.』

“What am I going to do!?”

My level has risen again! However, I have defeated a total of 107 creatures, including the slime I just defeated in the last 5 days. Even so, though I’ve level up just now, it’s still 10.

The slimes’ level is getting lower as we get closer to the city, but my level rises slowly.

However, this is very welcoming for me.

Why?

You can tell immediately by looking at my status.

《Hiiragi Seiichi》

Race: Human (human)

Gender: Male (Male)

Occupation: Unknown Monster (Magic Swordsman)

Age: 17 (17)

Level: 10 (10)

Magic power: 1016030 (50)

Attack power: 1018090 (50)

Defense: 1013270 (50)

Agility: 1020270 (50)

Magic Attack: 1015580 (50)

Magic Defense: 1016680 (50)

Luck: 1009040 (50)

Charm: Dokidoki heart breaking (50)

《Equipment》 Fine quality shirt. Fine quality trousers. High-quality underwear. Fine quality pants. Clever Monkey’s Chain.  Water spirit sphere dagger. Night bracelet. Black King Stone Choker. Endless Love Necklace. Fine Sword of Swirling Hatred. Fine Sword of Sword of Overflowing Benevolence. Blue Shoes

《Unique Skill》 Instant memory. Complete memory. Instant learning. Instant recovery. Complete dismantling. Mind’s eye

《Skill》 【Attack】 Cutting legs(Kick Slach). Twin Fang Attack. Strong Claws. 【Resistance】 Paralyze resistance. Sleep resistance. Confusion tolerance. Charm resistance. Petrification resistance. Inhibition resistance. Poison resistance. Fatigue resistance. 【Movement】 Moment. 【Unique】 Advanced appraisal. Super Compounding. Tool Creation: Ultra Top Class. Enemy Search. Ability Camouflage. Assimilation. Clairvoyance. Absorption. Compression

《Magic》 Life magic. Water attribute magic: Extreme. Darkness Attribute Magic: Extreme

《Secret Arts》 Gale (Hayate). Flash. Mist

《Martial Arts》 Zeford-style Guardian Swordsmanship: Founder

《Title》 Stinky player. The man with a gorilla bride. Top overall. Without restraint on oneself. King of males

《Money Possessed》 1002378000G

“It’s no good anymoreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!”

What is this!? All my statuses were over 1 million!? It’s not of a level 10 status!? It’s not even the status of a human!?

I’m worried if I’m really human! Help me!

“What’s that!? Ability camouflage? Explain that!”

When I shouted so, a translucent board suddenly appeared in front of me as if it had been prepared in advance.

“Uh!?…… what is it?”

I’m puzzled that it suddenly came out, but I read what it says.

『Ability camouflage』 …… Has the single effect of the skill 『Camouflage』. Unlike the effect of camouflage to the appearance so far, you can deceive your own atmosphere. Not only it can disguise the numbers displayed in the status, but it can now even camouflage your true ability. Strength control is also possible. However, the camouflaged appearance effect will be canceled.

“…… To that extent?”

Eh, what? In other words, it’s not just the status that the other party can see, but does it mean that it’s possible to disguise something like an atmosphere of a strong man, which is common in manga?

Besides, the control of force is …… the slime’s zupan! You mean I don’t have to do that? I can’t erase the anymore?

………….

“Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeey!”

I instinctively decided to have a guts pose.

This is……. This is cool! I will not be treated as a monster by others!

Right now, I’m the only person who is glad the he’s suppressed! I think it’s usually something that makes you want to wield your strength to the fullest, though……

If it’s my status that’s soared up to this far, I’m worried about it.

“More than that, the effect of the skill 『Enemy Search』…… it’s too high, right?”

It’s from 10 to 500 meters in one go? It’s ridiculous.

Well, unlike offensive skills, I don’t have to think about its own restraint, so Search Enemy is fine. Besides, it’s definitely better to improve the performance of Search Enemy.

Saria rushed over to me, when I was jumping in joy by myself. I conveyed my joy to Saria.

“Saria, I did it! I’m finally like a human being!”

“? I’m not sure, but…… that’s good!”

My heart lightens to Saria, who answered so with a smile.

When I was excited like that, Saria suddenly stared at my face, and a surprised expression came up on her face.

“What’s wrong?”

“Seiichi, your headgear is ……”

“Headgear, you said…… helmet?”

I tilt my head to Saria’s words.

What’s happening with my helmet.

Saria then told me about my helmet.

“It’s, it’s shining ……”

“Hee, shi –––– wah?

I involuntarily return such words.

No …… the helmet is shining? I don’t understand what that means. What kind of situation is it in.

However, it’s in fact that Saria was surprised to see my helmet.

There was only Saria around me, and I thought I could take it off now, so I took off my helmet.

“…………”

Let’s say from my conclusion.

“It’s shining……!”

Eh, what is this!? It’s unreasonably shining!? It doesn’t make sense if I myself is saying it!?

Perhaps because it was a soft light, there is no damage to my eyes ————

Pikaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

““Eyes …… me eyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessss!?””

I and Saria held our eyes, and writhed in agony.

At that moment, I drop my helmet to the ground.

I was caught off guard! Goddammit!

Before that, damage to my eyes happened many times!? It’s like the case with the evolution! Is shining such a popular thing!?

In the end, we couldn’t open our eyes for a while, but over time, our vision gradually recovered.

“It’s flickering……”

“Uh……”

When I was struck by the pain in which I still couldn’t pull from my face the grimace, something strange jumped into my field of view.

“……What’s this?”

The thing that was in my sight, was a strange robe.

Moreover, if I think about it carefully, the position where the robe had fallen, is the spot where I dropped the helmet.

I approach the robe, and pick it up.

“…… A simple robe.”

The robe I picked, was a black robe, with no embroidery.

“No no no no, I wonder where did the helmet disappear to.”

As I look for the helmet while spreading the robe, something like a white paper fell from the robe.

“Seiichi, something fell, you know?”

Saria picked up the fallen paper, and handed it to me.

“What the hell?”

When I opened the paper which was handed over, the contents were like from a letter.

『Greetings, this is Sheep-san』

“It’s you!?”

I quipped at the letter.

“This, letter is from Sheep?!”

I’m not sure, but let’s read on for the time being.

『First of all, congratulations on your level up. You’re getting farther away from being a human. 』

“Leave me alone!”

I mean, why did he know that I’ve levelled up!?

『Now then, I think your confused because the helmet suddenly glowed. Hence, please remember. I, had explained that the helmet would eventually come off. It converted from a helmet to a robe, and that’s a hard fact. In other words, that light emitted indicates that the helmet has 【Evolve】 into a new stage. 』

“What’s that new stage!?”

Moreover, the helmet has evolved!? I don’t know where to start to quip anymore!

『It’s a condition that the helmet will evolve, but it is by Seiichi-sama raising his own level, and the number displayed by the skill 【Camouflage】 reached a certain level. I knew that if your level went up, the 【Camouflage】 effect would change. 』

I see …… that’s why, he knew that I’ve leveled up huh.

『Due to the change in the effect of camouflage, Seiichi-sama’s appearance will be restored to its original appearance. You no longer need to hide your face with a helmet. 』

“I don’t think I need it from the start, you know.”

Half of it is for the Sheep to kill time, isn’t it? Detestable, right.

『It’s good that your back to your original form, but there will still be problems. Therefore, I have prepared a robe that does not particularly stand out in this world. A robe is also a sign of being a magician, so even if you wear it, you will not be taken care of by the soldier-sans. 』

Well, if it’s fantasy, a robe is acceptable. …… It’s definitely more dependable than a helmet.

『You can hide your appearance, but the robe doesn’t have any particular effect. I would like you to understand that thoroughly. 』

Oi, if there’s no effect granted, then it’s not an evolution, its degeneration. Well, I’ll certainly look better in a robe, though……

Anyway……

“Something is going wrong with, this sheep”

What do I say…… he’s being polite like an idiot.

Besides, he feels gentle. What’s that?

『That’s because half of Sheep is made up of gentleness. 』

“A’re!? This is a letter, right!?”

Why can the letter quip on what I thought!? That’s surprising!

『Well, I think there are a lot of difficult things, but with the evolved robe, I’m trying to make sure that you can spend time safely, by your beloved Sheep. 』

“No good, I can’t keep up with him……!”

What is with your beloved sheep!? It’s creepy!

“Hey, what was the content?”

When I was having goose bumps in the sheep’s letter, Saria asked with interest.

“That’s right …… Somehow, the helmet has evolved into this robe, so he said good luck with that.”

“……What do you mean?”

Yeah, I had said that myself, and even I wondered what I was saying. I don’t understand why. Perhaps I’ve omitted the explanation a lot, though.

“Well whatever! At any rate, let’s leave for the city!”

I immediately put on my robe, and wear the hood.

“Seiichi, that’s cool!”

“Thank you!”

What is, that energy. Before that, Saria says that I’m basically cool no matter what I do…… I think Saria is cute no matter what too! …… If she doesn’t become a gorilla while wearing clothes.

For that reason, we set out for the city again.

◇◆◇

“Oh!”

“It’s a city! I can see a city!”

The day after the helmet was replaced by a robe, we moved to a position where we could see a big city in the distance.

“Nonetheless, Zeanos’ knowledge is correct huh……”

To be honest, I was worried about the knowledge I got from Zeanos. After all, it’s an information that is 1500 years old. Normally, you wouldn’t even count on it.

But it seems that it ended being in vain. I was able to get to the place where I could see the city safely.

“However …… it’s amazing.”

“Nn? What?”

“Well…… we’ve come this far relying on Zeanos’ knowledge, right.”

“Yes, that reminds me, it was.”

“That’s right……. The knowledge of Zeanos is 1500 years old, but it’s amazing that the city is still in the same place …….”

The name of the city, and the country may have changed, but I was impressed that people still live in the same land like this.

“I see …… Seiichi is a human being. We monsters, don’t have a particularly specific residence, but if we feel comfortable in a place, we will live there.”

Saria said so with a bitter smile.

“Actually, I move in order to find a feeding ground, or if being chased by a monster stronger than me, and leave my habitat, but I’m glad I remained.”

“Why?”

“Sure, it was often dangerous, and I also fought against monsters stronger than myself many times, but I escaped you know? However, it was more comfortable to live in that place ……”

After all, for Saria, that forest is a place with various memories.

“If so, was it really good? For you to follow me……”

I was worried of whether she was happy to have followed me, until she left the place where she was comfortably living.

However, Saria erased such thoughts of mine in an instant.

“Yup. Because I told you, didn’t I? My place is where Seiichi is, you know! Besides, I’m glad I stayed in that place because I met Seiichi.”

“……”

It’s super embarrassing. Dangerous, it’s really dangerous.

Saria, also said such an embarrassing line without care. She also, expressed a big smile on her face.

Uwah…… she’s speaking fondly, of me……

I have changed from the helmet to the robe, but I was still grateful to it again for hiding my face. Unmistakably, my face is going be bright red.

“We,wewewell then, le,let’s go!”

“Yup!”

My voice went high, but Saria nodded cheerfully without any particular concern.

After a while, we arrived at the gate of the city without any trouble.

“Huge!”

“Yup, it’s big!”

When I and Saria reached the front of the gate, we involuntarily said so.

The city walls, which probably surround the entire city, and the thick iron gate, boasts about 10 meters in size.

I wonder, how did they install such a big gate. In the first place, is there a gate of such size?

Well, there must be some reason for it.

“Now then …… what should we do from here on?”

While saying that, I take a quick look around.

Then, I saw a person which seem to be a gatekeeper standing, and interacting with each of the people who passed through the gate.

“That is …… I guess it’s like an inspection?”

“It is, isn’t it?”

Saria seems to have thought the same way. Or rather, why do you know inspection? You’re a former monster, right?

It was when I thought of such a stupid thing.

I, remembered one thing that I had completely forgotten, without ever noticing it at all.

That is ————

“What is Saria’s race!?”

That it is.

Dangerous!? This, they can check the status with the inspection, can’t they!?

Fortunately, I can use the skill 『Camouflage』 to deceive them, but ……!

Besides, isn’t it necessary to have an ID? If we don’t have it, it’s often issued in the guild, isn’t it?

“More than that, Saria!”

“What?”

“Your race!?”

“Eh?…… Ah”

Apparently, Saria also noticed it.

If the Saria’s race was Kaizer Kong or monster, it wouldn’t just cause a fuss! Soldiers will come flying!

“…… That’s right! Wouldn’t it be good to look it up with 『Advanced Appraisal』!”

…… No, wait? Certainly, when I tried to once check Aoyama’s status in the classroom, there was too much difference in our ability, that I couldn’t check it other than his name, right?

…… I,Is it okay? Right now I’m, a monster. Ah, I’m getting sad just to say that, but I feel like it’s cool. I was able to use it to the Clever Monkey and Zeanos, so it’s okay!

As I decided so, let’s put it into use immediately.

“Advanced appraisal!”

There’s no particular reason to shout it.

《Saria》

Race: Gorilla (Beastman)

Gender: Female Beast (Female)

Occupation: Gladiator (Gladiator)

Age: 17 (17)

Level: 775 (7)

Magic power: 10000 (30)

Attack power: 30000 (30)

Defense: 20000 (30)

Agility: 30000 (30)

Magic Attack: 5000 (40)

Magic Defense: 5000 (50)

Luck: 100000 (100)

Charm: Unmeasurable (100)

“Uei!?”

There are so many things that is amazing!

Or rather, her status is high!? She’s high specs!? Her charm value is impossible to measure!? I envy you!

More than that, her race! Gorilla!? …… No, that’s right!

The numbers and characters written in the parentheses, are probably the ones shown on her human appearance. Well, I don’t even feel that her status is biased in various ways, but……

However…… Saria is a gladiator huh. When I was a gorilla, she was fighting with her bare hands, so that fits, but ……

Besides, I can’t see the skill of the other party. I don’t care now, though.

“I’m glad …… Saria, you’re supposed to be a beastman.”

“Beastman? What’s, that”

“I think it was a kind of a demi-human.”

In the knowledge I received from God, it was written so.

“Therefore, it’s for you to go to the inspection normally.”

“Is that so. Then, let’s go quickly!”

“Wah, wait!”

Saria, pulled my hand, and took me to the line which was waiting for the inspection.

After waiting for a while, it was finally our turn.

“Yes, next guy~”

“Etto……”

“Please take care of us.”

When I was nervous, Saria told him so properly. I, am no good……

“Uhh!? Such a beautiful woman-san……”

It was the soldier, who was inspecting us, that made such a voice.

He is dressed in a silver armor, and has a western-style sword on his waist.

His unshaven face stands out, and his hair unkempt, but I don’t think that he’s a bad person because he has certain spirit in his eyes.

It was rude to the person I met for the first time, but he looks like that!

“Well, useless talk is no good. …… Then, why don’t you show your ID card for the time being?”

It’s here! As I thought, we were asked for it! But we don’t have that!

However, we have no such thing no matter how flustered I get.

That’s why, I decided to tell him that honestly.

“I’m sorry…… Neither I nor this fella have an ID card ……”

“Huh? You don’t have it? Is that, possible? If you were born normally, you should be issued an ID card, right? Even slaves, have ID cards ……”

“That’s right …… but, we lost it.”

“You lost it you said…… well that’s fine. Losing an ID sometimes happen to guys.”

It’s there! I thought it was just us!

When I inwardly quipping, the soldier in front of me called a soldier nearby, and asked for something.

“Wait for a moment. Right now, we’ll bring the 『Truth Jewel』.”

“Truth Jewel”

I suddenly tilt my head to the unknown word.

Then the soldier sighed, and said with a sense of half-open eye.

“You …… are you seriously saying that?”

“I’m seriously serious, too. So, what kind of food is that?”

“It’s not food!”

Yup, I can understand somehow from the atmosphere of such a word. I just tried making a joke.

“To put it simply, it’s a tool that can see the criminal history of the person we want to find out.”

“That’s amazing, right.”

“I guess. The guy who made that was a genius. Well, he’s an ancient person. …… so, here it is.”

When the middle-aged soldier said so, the soldier from earlier brought a basketball-sized crystal.

“Now then, both of you. For the time being, why don’t you put your hand on this?”

“I understand. Then, I’ll go first?”

“Yup”

With the Saria’s consent, I put my hand on the crystal in front of me. Then, a pale blue light burst in the crystal.

“Alright, you’re okay. Well then, that beautiful woman-san.”

“Yes.”

When Saria put her hand on the crystal, a pale blue light burst in the crystal which is just like mine.

“Alrighto, both of you are okay. However, if you don’t have an ID card, I’ll have to ask you guys to pay about two silver coins as an entrance fee, but is that fine? By the way, it’s two apiece for two people, so it’s one piece for each person.”

“I see …… yes, this here.”

I immediately took out two silver coins, and handed them to the middle-aged soldier.

“Oh, indeed. Or rather, your appearance feels a little bit out of place, you know?”

“Eh?”

It was suddenly pointed out, so I replied with a mindless answer.

“That beautiful woman-san is feels out of place in a different way, but your appearance is clearly suspicious. If you’re going to spend time in this city, please be careful with your actions.”

“……Yes.”

Thaat sheep……! I’m amazingly standing out!

……Well, it’s better than the full-face helmet, though.

However, my status was not checked, so I think it was good. Well, there’s nothing wrong with being more careful, though.

“And then, you guys should issue a new ID.”

“Etto, I’m thinking of registering on the Adventurer’s Guild, and getting an ID card, but …… “

Perhaps we can get it if we register. I want it to be so. Please be so.

However, the moment I told the middle-aged soldier that, the middle-aged soldier’s face drew back greatly.

A’are? Did I, do something?

“Yo,you…… did you just say that you’re going to register at the guild in this city?”

“Ye,yeah……”

Somehow it was turning into a bad atmosphere, so while nodding in fear, the middle-aged soldier suddenly grabbed me by the shoulder.

“Only that place is sick! You’re, normal right!?”

“No, what are you talking about!?”

What do you mean normal!? I don’t understand the meaning of it!

“More than that, why did you choose the guild in this city!”

“Tha,that’s because……”

“Because, no!”

“Ee—”

What’s wrong, this old man ……

But this was really the closest city, so it can’t be helped, right? Or rather, why is the old man so desperate?

“Shit! Again …… I wonder if the number of victims will increase in that place ……!”

“Wait a minute. Did a word pop out that can’t be ignored just now?”

Victim!? What the hell!?

When I was terribly anxious about the guild I was planning to go to now, he looked at me and Saria with a serious expression.

“Is it okay? If anything happens, come to me! Get in touch with me! I’m definitely going to be in haste quickly!?”

“Etto……”

“Okay!?”

““Ye,yes!””

Both I and Saria replied in unison.

“Good…… Oops, I haven’t introduced myself yet. My name is Claude Schleizer. Feel free to call me Claude. You don’t even need to add honorifics.”

“Then, we won’t hesitate …… I’m Seiichi. Nice to meet you.”

“I’m Saria! Nice to meet you––––”

After saying that, Claude inhaled and said out loud.

“Welcome! To the royal capital, Terviel!”

<<Previous | Home | Next>>

3 thoughts on “Fruit of Evolution [LN] Volume 2 – Chapter 2: Royal Capital Terviel

Leave a comment