I was the Seventh Prince when I was Reincarnated, so I Choose to Master Magic As I Please – Chapter 4: The King is also Planning Something

“Lloyd di Salloum, I have come.”

One day, I was called to go to the throne room.

The one who called for me is the King of Saloum, and my father, Charles di Salloum.

The big old man sitting on the throne ―― Charles welcomes me with a huge smile.

“Oh, welcome Lloyd. It’s been a long time. It’s been about three years.”

“Fro,from my seventh birthday.”

Since many children die of illness or injury by the age of seven, such birthday has a special meaning.

Only then, the busy Charles, also came to see me.

Well, the words I got at that time was “Because you are the seventh son of a distant age, you have nothing to do with the royal battle, so you can do whatever you want without hesitation.”, it was like that.

Either way, there is only a single King, and I think he was busy in various ways, and sometimes, I see him walking in the corridor from a distance.

But what business does he have for bringing me here now …… I’m quite nervous.

To me with my head down, Charles says tediously.

“Fumu, that reminds me, you were the same even when you met before. You’re stiff, or rather, not like that of a child. …… Isn’t it okay for you to hug your father who you haven’t met after a long time?

“……Please don’t jest. I can’t really behave like that.”

“Fumu, well it’s fine. It’s the proof that you were learning etiquette that much. This, come a little closer.”

“Hah”

For the mean time, he doesn’t seem to be in a bad mood, and it doesn’t feel like he’s angry, I guess.

I stand up, and go to his side as I’m told.

Charles stared at my face, and nodded slowly.

“……Hoo, you have fine feature aren’t you”

“Thank you very much”

“You had asked Sylfa and Albert, right? You seem to be working pretty hard in swordsmanship and magic.”

“! N,no! I’m sorry ……!”

I hurriedly bowed my head to the words of Charles.

“What were you sorry of! Sylfa, who had beaten swordsmanship to my own sons, is arguing that your swordsmanship, is the best of all the princes, and you’re the best swordsman in the country! Albert, one of the castle’s best magicians, was also jealous of your talents! When I was around that age, I couldn’t fly a 『Fireball』 properly, and I thought I had control it brilliantly! Those two young talented people said that much!”

Charles nodded happily un un, with his arms folded.

…… Uwaah, both of them said that.

I thought I have hidden my ability in my own way, but still, it seems to have been half-hearted.

After all, it’s dangerous to use magic in the castle.

If my evaluation goes up too much, there is a possibility that I will be involved in the succession to the throne, and if that happens, it’ll be troublesome.

I have to be prudence for a little. But due to my personality, I can’t stop studying magic ……

“I have high expectations for you! That’s why, continue working hard!”

“Eeto …… tha,t’s true ……”

When he saw me muddying my reply, Charles clouded his face.

“…… But, no matter how good you are, it’s difficult to add you to the succession of the throne from hereon. I’ve already educated the top princes, including Albert and the others, for that. …… It’s painful if you think so and you work hard. I thought I’d say this to you first, and that’s how I called you.”

――Ah, so that’s what it was.

In other words, Charles misunderstood that I’m working hard to inherit the throne.

Of course, I didn’t have the slight intention to do that, so I relievedly stroked my chest.

“Please don’t worry, father. I’m just doing what I like, as I’ve been told. I’m not interested in the succession to the throne from the beginning.”

In my words, Charles rounded his eyes.

And he squints, as if he is impressed.

“―― Umu, umu, you didn’t crumble with my words, you said well! I’m glad to have you as my son!”

Moreover, he seems to be a little tearful.

…… I’m really serious, though.

While watching Charles who is deeply motivated, I scratched my cheeks.

“Rest assured! Lloyd, that effort will never be wasted! That’s why keep pushing forward with that!”

“Ha,haa……”

“Umu, then it’s fine for you to go down.”

I don’t know what it is, but for the time being, I’m relieved that I can maintain my life so far.

I turn my back on Charles, with a sigh of relief.

“…… Even though, he showed no interest for the throne, he just keeps making an effort…… it’s a great thing considering that he’s still 10 years old. No, he may be something like a true king by now, or may not be that much. I may have to reconsider the candidate for the succession of the throne.”

Charles is saying something, but it doesn’t sound very good.

Well, maybe it’s about politics. I’m sorry but I’m not interested.

I want to go home earlier and read a book. I quickly left the throne room.

<<Previous | Home | Next>>

5 thoughts on “I was the Seventh Prince when I was Reincarnated, so I Choose to Master Magic As I Please – Chapter 4: The King is also Planning Something

Leave a comment